The four universities that make up the UP4 group are Spanish higher education institutions that specialise in architecture, science and engineering. They are dynamic young universities (under 50) that are growing very fast, and offer a level of quality that the Spanish Ministry of Education has recognised by awarding them the International Campus of Excellence seal.
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya · Barcelona Tech (UPC)
The UPC was founded in 1971 and currently has over 31,000 students, who receive training at 21 schools located in seven Catalan cities. The University has filed 47 patents in the past year and had a budget of €283 million in 2017.

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM)
Founded in 1971. The UPM is home to over 40,000 students, who study at 18 schools and faculties located on three campuses and at the University City of Madrid. The University also has its own science and technology park, which is home to the Magerit supercomputer. Its annual budget is €349 million.

Universitat Politècnica de València (UPV)
Founded in 1971. Today, the UPV has 14 schools and faculties, including the Faculty of Fine Arts, which makes it unique in Spain. The University has a total of 33,000 students across three campuses. The Polytechnic City of Innovation is the UPV’s technology park, a 140,000-m² facility where 1600 scientists and 400 support staff work. In 2017, the UPV had a budget of €313 million.

Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena (UPCT)
The UPCT was founded in 1998, but some of its schools date to the late 19th century. The University has eight faculties, distributed on three urban campuses, about 7000 students and a budget of around €53 million.


Go to top

Alliance of technological universities

The UPC, the UPM, the UPV and the UPCT have the stamp of Campus of International Excellence